top of page


Home // Press

The Train From Outer Space Wins Bronze IPPY Award

June 12, 2016

The Independent Publisher Book Awards, the "IPPY" Awards, is an annual book awards contest conducted to honor the year's best independently published titles. Over 6,000 titles are submitted for these awards each year, but only a handful are selected. They are one of the highest honors for books published by independent publishers.

When Jenkins Group launched the Independent Publisher Book Awards in 1996, it was established as “the first unaffiliated book awards program open exclusively to independents.” Another contest did exist, but entrants had to join an association (and pay a separate fee), a practice we found contrary to the independent attitude of small press publishing at the time. Even today, authors choose to publish independently to break free of the rules and constraints of conglomerate media, and this rebellious attitude still influences the "IPPY"Awards’ mission today, “To reward those who exhibit the courage, innovation, and creativity to bring about change in the world of publishing.”

The Jenkins  spokesman states: “Going back to our awards mission statement and guidelines, here’s why we do it: “To recognize the deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers, and bring them to the attention of booksellers, buyers, librarians, and book lovers around the world.”

Here’s how we do it: “Judging is based on content, originality, design, and production quality, with emphasis on innovation and social relevance. Independent spirit and expertise comes from publishers of all sizes and budgets, and books are judged with that in mind.”

“I am truly honored, along with my co-writer Lizanne Southgate, to receive the Bronze award in the Juvenile/Young Adult Fiction E-Book category for “The Train from Outer Space”.  This my first book so it is a real thrill.”

Please reload

bottom of page